Photoweek: The Monopod

Hey everyone. I am proclaiming this week photoweek on the abrentisart blog. Why? Because I have been wanting to do it more, and actually got to take some pics of my brother-in-law and his fiance’ this weekend. So in my excitement, get ready for a handful of photo related posts this week.

Post 1: The monopod.

So I have previously had this video of Yuri Arcurs on my blog before but I wanted to share it again. According to Yuri, the most important thing in a photo is getting what you want in focus. This has been something that I have been a having a problem with on my camera, maybe because I was shooting freehand. You take the luck aspect out of it when you use something to keep your camera steady. For functionality, speed, and versatility Yuri put together a pretty cool monpod setup that go me inspired. From Mr. Microstock himself- Yuri’s monopod.


Visit Yuri’s video blog for the parts list.

As a cheaper alternative, I put this little setup together and it works great. The Ball head let’s me do a complete 90 degree angle so I can so vertical as well.

Calumet 7102 4-Section Monopod $19.95

Calumet 7102 4-Section Monopod

Calumet 7102 4-Section Monopod

494 Mini Ball Head with RC2 Quick Release Plate $65 from Samy’s

494 Mini Ball Head with RC2 Quick Release Plate

494 Mini Ball Head with RC2 Quick Release Plate

Leave a Reply

